Post Office Directory 1851, Crowhurst, East Sussex

Crowhurst is a parish, 3miles south of Battle, and 5 north-west of Hastings, Baldslow hundred, rape of population of 326. The assessment is £2,044. The benefice is a rectory, value £177 per annum, and in the patronage of T. Papillon, Esq.; the Rev. Sir Charles Hardingage is the incumbent. On the south side of Crowhurst church are the remains of an oratory or chapel, the principal part consisting of a wall, with the remains of a beautiful Gothic window. A groined entrance and a piscine are also in preservation. Crowhurst is much frequented by artists, as well for its immense yew-tree (the circumference of which, at 4 feet from the ground, is 27 feet, and around the bottom 42 feet) as its picturesque situation.

Post Office – Richard Tapner, receiver. Letters arrive from Battle at 8am; dispatched at 6.30pm

National School, Richard Tapner, master

Rush Rev. Henry J.

Cooke Gabriel, farmer
Cooke Tilden, farmer
Cooke Tilden, jun. farmer, Hye House
Hickman William, shoe maker
Hutchinson Thomas, wheelwright
Larkin Thomas, farmer
Miller John, farmer
Seller John, farmer
Spray William, “Plough Inn”, & blacksmith
Spray William, farmer
Taylor Stephen, farmer
Waters Richard, farmer
Waters Thomas, blacksmith
White George, grocer
Wood Richard, farmer


Transcribed by Stacey Gardner

Sussex OPC Home